2020 ESPYs award: The Winners’ list

By Toby Tunwase August 2, 2020

Regardless of the ‘new normal’ virtual society we now live in, the 2020 ESPYS Awards were still held to honor sportsmen all over the world in June 2020. The “Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly Award” (ESPY Award) is there to honor individuals and team achievements in sports and athletic performances during the previous year. The ESPYs Award is to sports, what Grammy is to music, Emmy is to television and the Oscar is to movies.

Image courtesy of thephinsider.com

As one expected, the biggest night in sports was held virtually with participants joining in from their homes. The event was hosted by Seattle Storm point guard Sue Bird, OL Reign winger Megan Rapinoe and Seattle Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson.

During the event, the hosts gave comments about the issue of racism and inequality as it affects the sports industry globally. The ESPYs seeks to highlight the many ways that sports unite people from diverse race, culture, gender, and sexuality harmoniously.

Image courtesy of twincities.com

The Awards             

Due to the ongoing pandemic, many sports leagues were prematurely canceled or put on hold. The ESPY decided not to give out performance-based awards, but stick to “narrative awards”.

Scroll below for the complete list of ESPYs Award winners, 2020.

WINNER: Nelson Cruz, Minnesota Twins

WINNER: Los Angeles Dodgers

WINNER: Burton Snowboards

WINNER: Jackson State Manager Thomas “Snacks” Lee Drills 3

WINNER: Taquarius Wair, Mesabi Range College

WINNER: Kim Clavel, Boxing

WINNER: WNBA and WNBA Players Association

WINNER: Kevin Love, Cleveland Cavaliers

WINNER: Ralph C. Wilson, Jr. Foundation

WINNERS: Joe Apudo, Batouly Camara, Ally Friedman, Javonn Islar, Chelsea Quito, Elijah Murphy, and Niah Woods